Skip to content
July 31, 2010 / MrsH

Children and Flowers

I guess MrH and I have been on the fast track through parenting.  Having three children in three months kind of made peoples’ jaw drop.  Ours too.  And even though more people are now fully recognizing us as a five-person family, we’re still amazed at the swiftness of it all.  Many days I feel like I’m just barely getting by, scrambling to find solutions for all the everyday issues we face.

It continues to come as a surprise to me, then, when well-intentioned friends and acquaintances ask me whether we’re going to have another baby.  Excuse me, WHAT?!  Isn’t three enough?  It’s more than we ever planned to have, it’s stretched me beyond boundaries in ways that I never fathomed could even happen, and you want me to have more?  And wait, I’m finally starting to see the end of the sleepless nights, and you think I’m going to choose to go through it again?

But then I see our newest nephew and hold him close.  I hear/read amazing birth stories.  And I see quotes like the one below.  And I wonder: are they really that crazy?

“How can you have too many children? That’s like saying there are too many flowers.” – Mother Teresa

(note: I do believe that raising a child is slightly more, shall we say, all-encompassing than growing some geraniums on the front porch…)

Leave a Reply

