Skip to content
August 10, 2010 / MrsH

Waking up… Some Days!

Phew, we’ve completed one week of the challenge and while I’m not exactly feeling accomplished, some good things are happening.  I woke up at 6:15 every day!  This means I remembered to set my alarm.  How’s that for a babystep?  I haven’t used an alarm clock in years, having just relied on noise from the kids’ bedroom to get me up.  I even got up out of bed and did my morning plan about half the days.  And you know what?  I enjoyed those days!

Having a Bible reading plan is incredibly helpful for me. Each day of the week focuses on a different section of the Bible and it takes about 15 minutes to read the Word.  There prophesy reading day is a little longer, which is interesting because that’s a section that I’m almost entirely unfamiliar with and in some ways is a hard thing to wrap myself around.  But I did read each day’s assignment, almost all on the assigned days.  I figure if I miss a day though I’m not going to “make it up” unless I have extra time on hand.  I spend enough of my day catching up to the kids, I figure those couple of chapters will still be there waiting for me to read them.  It also ups the ante a little for actually working to finish it each day, even if I didn’t wake up.

One other major change that’s happened for me is that even when I don’t get up, I remember to thank God for this day, to ask Him to guide my steps, and to simply His holy presence over my hours.

For my quiet time plan, see last week’s post.

This week’s goals are to

  1. continue waking up at 6:15 and to actually get myself up out of bed at least five times and have quiet time.  We’re camping with my entire side of the family for a couple of days so I might fit my quiet time in elsewhere (early mornings for the baby on campgrounds).  The good news is that it’ll help set my body clock to be out for a walk with the Little One, even if I’m not doing my Bible reading at that time.
  2. do the Bible reading every single day, even if not during the morning time
  3. ENJOY OUR VACATION!
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joelle / Aug 10 2010 1:42 pm

    You’ve done well. I can only encourage you to keep it up. It is so encouraging to read of others who make the effort and are doing it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. hljourney / Aug 10 2010 2:32 pm

    Keep up the great start & enjoy your vacation!
    Hugs & prayers, HL

  3. holly / Aug 10 2010 9:43 pm

    Baby steps are the way to go!!! Keep up the good work. I think having your quiet time while camping would be so peaceful 🙂

  4. Kat @ Inspired To Action / Aug 10 2010 9:47 pm

    Waking up at your goal time everyday is a pretty serious accomplishment and I love that even on the days you’re not able to get your Quiet Time in, you’re still being purposeful about connecting with Him.

    Have fun camping and I hope this is the start of a wonderful life long habit!

Leave a Reply

