Skip to content
October 7, 2010 / MrsH

Real Food-ish Apple Crisp

Since my last dental appointment, I’ve been greatly reducing my sugar intake.  It had been my one vice as a nursing, sleep-deprived, mother of three, and one that I felt couldn’t possibly be so bad.  But if my increased waistline wasn’t enough of a clue, the tooth decay has been.  A huge bummer, and I’m totally rewiring how I get through my day.  It sounds a little trite, but it really has been hard.  Anyway, we’ve been having a wonderful abundance of delicious apples around here lately and I noticed they were starting to go bad.  What to do?  Make apple crisp of course!  But… oh horror!  I can’t possibly make it in an 8″ pan and include 1.5 cups of sugar!!  So I adapted the recipe and came out with a rather delicious apple crisp, that I allowed our Middle One to eat for lunch.

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves
  • enough apples to fill a 9×13 pan.  I used about 8.
  • 1tsp sugar
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C.) Lightly grease a 9×13″  pan.
  2. Place apples (peeled, cored, and sliced) in the pan.  Generously sprinkle with cinnamon.
  3. In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, oats, flour, butter, a generous amount of cinnamon and smaller sprinklings of ground cloves and nutmeg. Mix until crumbly. Top apples with this mixture
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until golden brown.

Next time I think I’ll add chopped walnuts and some flaxmeal to the topping (replacing some/all of the flour), and will probably try using honey or maple syrup for sweetener.

Leave a Reply

