Skip to content
October 14, 2010 / MrsH

My Teacher Sat on My Couch

I’m participating in Mommy’s Piggy Tales Record Your Youth. Over the next 14 weeks (13 actually – I missed the first week) my Thursday posts will feature brief stories from when I was little.  I hope that in writing and reading these posts, I can both be better about sharing my stories with my kids, and also have a more empathetic response in the moments where they are acting their age.

This week is “a story or highlights from your preschool-kindergarten years.”

***

When I was five, I got mumps.  Twice.  The first time was when our entire school welcomed St. Nicholas (Sinterklaas) as he visited our school.  The second time was during our class’s Christmas breakfast.  Which I would later learn was not to be missed because there were candles on the table and each kid got a clementine.  And if you’ve never squirted the rind into the candle, well, you haven’t truly lived.  But I didn’t know all that.  I was home, resting.  The doorbell rang.  My teacher walked in.  My teacher!?  What was she doing here?  Why did my mom serve her coffee?  She was visiting?  Why would she do such a thing?

I remember feeling tired and having a headache.  I did not want this confusion.  My teacher sat on the loveseat, but I didn’t yet know that that was what it was called.  I lay on our larger couch, and since my mom had nowhere else to sit, she scooched me over a bit and sat down.   I did not want to be sociable.  So I crawled deeper into the sleeping bag and hid behind her.  “Aww, is Jane being shy?”  My teacher said, with a knowing look to my mother.  I wanted to scream: “get out of my house!  Teachers belong at school and my head hurts!”  But I didn’t, I turned over and went to sleep.  When I woke up, she had left.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. CoolMama / Oct 14 2010 1:08 pm

    haha, I love this! “Teachers belong in school!”. We actually lived on a block where a bunch of teachers lived, so it probably wouldn’t bother me if one was in my house, but I don’t think I would’ve liked it while I was sick. There’s just something weird about your teacher seeing you in your pajamas…just like it’s weird to see your teacher at the mall (What are you doing here? Don’t you live at school?!).

    • MrsH / Oct 14 2010 3:47 pm

      Or the grocery store… My daughter though thinks it’s the greatest thing to run into her teacher. Last year she kept begging us to go out for breakfast at this local muffin/breakfast place. When we finally went, she was all quiet and pouting. Afterward she shared that her teacher told her she often goes there on the weekend, and she was so hoping to run into her teacher!

  2. Rachel / Oct 14 2010 1:20 pm

    It’s funny how strange it seems to see your teacher outside of the classroom, isn’t it? Why is it that when we’re children our teachers don’t seem like people with ‘real’ lives?

    • MrsH / Oct 14 2010 3:46 pm

      Seriously. When I was teaching (very briefly) the kids were always shocked if I mentioned anything not-school related!

  3. Lolli / Oct 14 2010 1:25 pm

    How funny! Was she checking on you? Delivering homework? I love your reaction. 🙂

    • MrsH / Oct 14 2010 3:43 pm

      I have a vague recollection that she was dropping off the equivalent of a party favor from the Christmas celebration. Probably something involving lots of greenery and some florist’s foam, that was a favorite project in later years.

  4. Lynnet Hardwick / Oct 17 2010 3:44 pm

    I had to laugh when reading this. I don’t remember having a teacher visit me at our home, but I probably would have been horrified. Kids these days see their teachers outside of the classroom so many times, so I don’t they have quite the same reaction. I always thought my teachers lived at school. There have been times, in the past 15 years that I’ve run into one of my former students. I think we’re both surprised – me that they somehow “grew up” and remembered my name, and they are that I actually have a life.

    Thanks for stopping by my Piggy Tales. I’m looking forward to hearing all the tales and experiences that have influenced us to become the people we are today.

  5. Laura / Oct 17 2010 10:05 pm

    Loved your story! I don’t like visitors when I’m sick, either. Let me rest, already!

  6. I used to be a teacher and one day when I ran at recess the students said in a shocked voice. “Mrs. A can run!!!” Yes dear students my legs work like everyone elses:)

Leave a Reply

