Skip to content
October 24, 2010 / MrsH

Cabbage for Dinner

About this cabbage recipe, our Eldest declared: “I don’t like it, I love it!”  This was immediately following her comment that the potatoes were “kind of boring and plain.”  I think she meant to say “pass the salt, please?”  But yeah, this was definitely a cheap and easy meal, and we served thirds to everyone.  The whole dinner was cabbage with sausage, baked apples, and roasted potatoes.  We’ve also had it vegetarian, adding whole wheat pasta instead of potatoes.  If you add lots of pepper it’s quite tasty that way as well. And, I only recently became aware that cabbage is a powerhouse vegetable, well-worth including in our diets!  Previously, I’d always thought it was more like iceberg lettuce, but not so.  Eat up!

Roast Cabbage with Sausage (optional)

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F
  2. Quarter and core a head of cabbage, then cut into large pieces, about 2″ square.
  3. Place into roasting pan – the closer you are to a single layer the more browned and delicious it’ll be, but I’ve been known to stick it all into one large roasting pan and that works.
  4. Cut into small pieces 2-4 pre-cooked sausages.  We used apple-gouda this time.  Add to the cabbage.
  5. Mix a bit of olive oil (or other fat of your choosing), salt, and pepper in as well.  If using the sausage, be sure to use a light hand on the oil. If no sausage, you’ll want to use enough that it just coats the cabbage.
  6. Place the whole thing in the oven.  Stir every 10 minutes.  It should be ready in about 30 minutes, or when the cabbage starts to get browned and caramelized on the edges.

 

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kateisfun / Oct 25 2010 5:08 am

    Mmm, sounds delicious! We’ve been eating lots of cabbage around here too, mostly as salads. I think I’ll try your recipe w/ the head I have in the fridge…

    • MrsH / Oct 26 2010 12:45 pm

      Let me know how it works out for you!

  2. kelly @kellynaturally / Oct 26 2010 8:56 am

    I LOVE cabbage – will have to try this. When you make it vegetarian, do you use a veggie sausage, or just leave the sausage out altogether?

    • MrsH / Oct 26 2010 4:50 pm

      Hi Kelly, thanks for stopping by. I haven’t done it with veggie sausage though I bet that’d taste delicious! I’d go with the larger amount of olive oil though to make sure the sausage doesn’t dry out. Enjoy!

  3. Kateisfun / Nov 1 2010 5:48 am

    Just wanted to let you know I made this [finally] over the weekend, and it was great! I did a vegan version, adding just some olive oil, S&P to it. Keith and I ate the whole cabbage (it was a small one) and it was a great side alongside leftover lentil soup. Next time, I might add some chopped onions to the mix. Thanks for a great recipe!

    • MrsH / Nov 1 2010 8:33 pm

      I’m so glad it worked out! I’m always amazed by how much cabbage I can eat when cooked like this.

  4. Kateisfun / Mar 28 2011 8:34 pm

    Had to let you know that I revisited this again tonight… Added some quinoa (already cooked) to the dish and it was a pretty great meal. 🙂

    • MrsH / Apr 2 2011 7:27 am

      what a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

