Skip to content
October 27, 2010 / MrsH

A Night in the Hospital

This post is part of Mommy’s Piggy Tales: Record My Youth. I hope you enjoy the stories both on this blog and others’!

Sometime around when I was 7, I spent one night in the hospital so the doctors could measure my stomach acid levels.  At the time I had these inexplicable chest pains and they wanted to rule out some stuff.

I remember my mom being with me as we checked in at the hospital.  It was the afternoon and I had fasted in preparation for the procedure.  I felt scared and very hungry.  There was some sort of a delay so the other kids in the room received their dinners.  I buried my face in my mother’s chest and wept.  When the nurse finally came, they had to get some sort of a tube down through my nose and into my stomach.  The doctor told me I might tear up a little, but I cried again.  A lot.  “Swallow, you need to swallow now!” he kept telling me.  Between my sobs I couldn’t manage a swallow for the longest time.

Someone, maybe the mother of a friend, had given me a sticker book.  I sat in the bed and did stickers.  I vaguely remember there being a playroom type area for patients as well, but when I went down I felt too awkward and quickly came back up to my bed.  In the bed next to me was a little boy who had had a surgery (I think).  The nurses had to help him go to the bathroom.

Nobody had told me to the rules of the hospital, and so when I woke up at night needing to use the bathroom, I tried my hardest to hold it.  Was I allowed to go across the hall to use the bathrooms?  Or did I have to stay in my room?  The point of desperation finally hit and I quickly, silently padded down the hall and across into the bathrooms.  But now what?  The floor was silent except for the sounds of muffled conversation coming from the nurse’s office at the end of the hall.  I knew that my friend never flushed during the nighttime, but my family did.  Was I allowed to flush here?  Everyone might wake up!  But I couldn’t not flush…

I hit the handle and rushed back to my bed.  “Hello?  Is anyone up?”  The nurse had heard.  I dove under the covers and tried to slow down my breathing.  She poked her head in: “everyone ok?”  She kept walking.  Safe.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Oct 28 2010 8:14 am

    Your hospital adventure sounds like a scary experience for a child to go through. Your midnight bathroom adventure made me laugh ;o)

    • MrsH / Oct 28 2010 12:17 pm

      Thanks for visiting! I think my mom was actually on a cot right near my bed. I don’t know why I didn’t just wake her up and ask!

  2. Lynnet Hardwick / Oct 28 2010 10:57 am

    Ah, what a scary experience, but I had to smile at your late night wandering. Did they ever tell you what was wrong or the results of your test? I remember visiting my brother in the hospital, but not much else. I wonder if the nurse was smiling that night.

    • MrsH / Oct 28 2010 12:17 pm

      I think it got chalked up as growing pains, everything came back normal. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. scrapbookeasy / Oct 28 2010 12:41 pm

    Oh my gosh, I don’t think I could handle a tube in my nose at my age now! You were brave. What an experience!

  4. Nina / Oct 28 2010 5:53 pm

    So did you flush? Great story – visiting from group 4

    • MrsH / Nov 2 2010 8:19 am

      I did, but was terrified as soon as I did!

  5. Heather / Oct 29 2010 11:37 am

    Isn’t it funny the things that we thought when we were little? Like the whole flushing thing:) Still a scary thing! visiting from group1:)

  6. Beth LaMie / Oct 29 2010 9:52 pm

    Being in the hospital is so scary at any age, but especially that young. I love the “flush” or “don’t flush” dilemma. Hard to know all the rules we are expected to know.

    Beth from Group 3

  7. CoolMama / Nov 1 2010 11:31 pm

    That must’ve been terrifying! My first time ever staying in a hospital was 15 months ago when my daughter was born…and even then I had either my husband or mom stay with me the whole time. When I needed to go to the bathroom…I woke everyone up!

    • MrsH / Nov 2 2010 8:18 am

      Ha, but you’re entitled after giving birth! Congrats 🙂

Leave a Reply

