Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / MrsH

My Third Grade Teacher

This post is part of Mommy’s Piggy Tales: Record My Youth. I hope you enjoy the stories both on this blog and others’!

I did not always like my third grade teacher.  Meester Herman was his name.  He was strict, tough, one of the few male teachers at my school, and on top of that, he was older.  That probably meant he was somewhere in his 40s.  It makes me cringe to think how not-old that actually is!

One day, Meester Herman was trying to explain something to us, but it somehow didn’t come out in a way that made any sense to us attentive students.  For weeks after, we quoted our teacher’s comment before convulsing in giggles: “anything’s possible.  Sun is possible!  Moon is possible!!”  By this point his hands were gesturing animatedly and his voice got louder as he, clearly thrilled with the big final announcement, added: “You see?  Anything is possible!!!” To this day, I can’t remember any part of the context of this scene, but it literally provided hours of entertainment for us.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. CoolMama / Nov 4 2010 11:22 pm

    haha. I’m not sure in what context that would make any sense.

    I had a kinda crazy teacher in High School. He taught algebra but wrote all of the the blackboard notes out in paragraphs, he was always kinda gruff and mean, but then he’d stop in the middle of teaching and tell old jokes in a way where you thought he was serious. It was very odd.

  2. Laura / Nov 5 2010 12:49 am

    Your story made me giggle too! What a nice memory to have of you and your friends, even at the expense of Mr. Herman!

  3. Rachel / Nov 5 2010 7:44 am

    Isn’t it funny how kids latch on to some phrase and enjoy repeating it over and over. My sons do that now and giggle and giggle, just like you and your friends. What a fun memory ;o)

  4. Lynnet Hardwick / Nov 5 2010 6:16 pm

    Isn’t it funny the things that remind us of a time that is unpleasant. I could almost see ya’ll giggling and imitating. Do you still laugh when you hear that phrase?

  5. I taught for 6 years and often wonder what crazy moments I may have had for my students to laugh about.

    Good “old” Meester Herman

Leave a Reply

