Skip to content
January 4, 2011 / MrsH

Some Updates

I loved the holidays this year, our family had a LOT of fun together!  I’m also very glad to be back into some routine.  With kids at school I do have a bit more time for personal things such as blogging.  I’ll be making a few changes to the blog.

First, I’m changing the “names” of the kids to actual nicknames.  I don’t like identifying children by their birth order and never do it in real life.  Why do it here?  So from now on it’ll be: “Missie” for my dear 8 year old.  “Buddy” for our almost 5 year old son.  “Sweetpea” for the 20 month old toddler.  I’ve never been good at nicknames but these are things we actually call our kids so there it is.

Second, since I love reading, and have been finding more and more time to do it, I’m going to start adding some book reviews to this site.  Nothing formal or fancy, just my opinions on the books I’m reading.  It’ll go hand in hand with my goal to read at least 18 books this year: 6 fiction, 6 parenting related, and 6 non-fiction and not parenting related.  I’m currently reading Bittersweet: Thoughts on Change, Grace, and Learning the Hard Way by Shauna Niequist.  Loving it.  Here’s a quote I’m mulling over right now.  The author is out to lunch with a friend whom she considers wiser and more experienced at finding ways to manage it all.  She asks her friend about it:

And this is what Denise told me: she said it’s not hard to decide what you want your life to be about.  What’s hard, she said, is figuring out what you’re willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about.

Now that is wisdom.

 

Bittersweet: Thoughts on Change, Grace, and Learning the Hard Way

Leave a Reply

