Skip to content
February 22, 2011 / MrsH

When the TV remains OFF

It’s school vacation week here and the potential for boredom is ever-present.  As soon as the kids wake up the chorus starts: can we watch tv?  Can I play DS?  Oh, the computer, how about time on the computer?  The concept that it’s all screen-time still hasn’t kicked in for them!  So we watch a litte, then get ready for our day.  We keep busy, trying to get some exercise into the morning, a rest hour immediately after lunch, and then my doctor’s appointment after that.  As soon as we’re home though, the kids start again.  Sigh…

This time I say “let’s find something else to do.”  I pour myself a cup of tea and nurse the toddler.  Buddy runs up to the attic to try out his trinket parachute guy.  Missie wants to try but Buddy says no.  “Uh-oh,” I think.  But it goes a different way.  Missie decides to make her own parachute and launch it.  Soon, they’re racing parachutes (uhm… isn’t the point to slow them down??).  They’re figuring out how to make better parachutes, how is the plastic one different from the paper one?  “How about trying it with a piece of fabric?” I suggest.  And off they go again.

If we were homeschooling, would I record this as science or something?  I know that in terms of their traditional schooling, this doesn’t “count.”  Missie’s supposed to be memorizing her multiplication facts, not messing around with parachutes.  She’s supposed to be reading books, not finding the ideal way to tie the strings.  But in terms of how I see learning?  These are the invaluable moments that can never be recreated.  All because I endured the (blessedly brief) whining about the break from screen time.  Good work, kids!

ETA: they then proceeded to help me cook dinner.  Who are these children?   And where’d you put mine?!  (ok ok, so the pre-dinner melt-down also still happened, but seriously, there was a solid 90 minutes of great engagement before that, it’s unheard of!)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kateisfun / Feb 22 2011 10:58 pm

    I bet these children are picking up on your intention to love and care for them so completely this week. Kids are smart like that… and don’t you feel wonderful?

  2. teresa / Feb 23 2011 7:00 pm

    Congratulations and great job choosing not to have more “screen time”.
    We’re doing the same. I admire your dedication… I only have one child and it’s sometimes hard to make that choice not to allow t.v.

Leave a Reply

