Skip to content
August 30, 2011 / MrsH

Reprieve

Today, I really felt in my element as a mother.  I can tell you, that is a rare occasion for me!  While I know that I have strengths as a mother, and that I even handle some really tough stuff with a modicum of grace and dignity, my kids generally have more needs than I have dignity, resulting in some very chaotic scenes.

But today was different.  I’m not sure why.  Buddy was a little less oppositional, and I a little more adept at handling it.  Missy was excited about her spelling lesson, and I about spending the time with her.  Sweetpea was just the cutest, as she nursed her baby and took a nap.  The kids didn’t beat each other up every chance they got, and even read a book together, touching each other without disintegrating into hitting screaming messes.  I had the chance to journal, and then actually wanted to go sit with them to watch their movie, rather than run for the hills and hide.  It was a different kind of day, and I’m so grateful for it.

I want to gather up all the good feelings and slowly dispense them over the next week.  To be taken and savored every time the going gets tough.  I expect that it will, but for now, I relish in the hope that a day like this might come again.

Leave a Reply

